Bitter

Words That Haunt Us

mitch-albom

This is one of the what ifs in life. Sometimes we don’t have enough courage to say the things we want to. And they’re frustrating. You have it all figured out on your mind, exactly how you want to spit them out, but you couldn’t. We are only brave in our imaginations. When the right time presents itself, we even find it hard to look into the person’s way, let alone express themselves.

This is almost always the case. At least to me. And I always wonder about what could have happened had I told them what I was supposed to say. Right now there’s one person I really want to be friends with even though we’re not of the same age (sort of like a mentor), and I’ve thought every possible scenario in my mind on how to open that up to her, but I couldn’t. One of the plans was to come to her and ask could we be friends? straight up. But it’s hard. And it’s somehow complicated.

The only solution I could think of at the moment is to write. Somehow it eases up your emotions. Think about the person and write about the things you wanna tell them directly but couldn’t. If you’re brave enough, send them a letter. Sounds like a risk, but at least the words won’t haunt you; at best, the person would reply the way you expect them to, and at worst, they will do nothing at all.

I get over the things I didn’t say after some time. But just like all the memories we suddenly remember and the moments we suddenly miss, there will come a day in our life when the things we didn’t say will finally knock on our doors, only to haunt us.

This is in response to the blog event Writer’s Quote Wednesday. [Photo]

Standard

12 thoughts on “Words That Haunt Us

  1. What you wrote reminded me straight away of Tatyana in Eugene Onegin – one of the main discussion on this work was whether or not she should have written it. Always debatable 🙂 As for me, I’m always for ‘doing and then regretting, rather then not doing and regretting that’.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Welcome and what a quote! Few words that speak a great amount! You will find your courage to say what is in your heart when you are ready. Lovely quote. Thank you for sharing. ❤

    Like

  3. This is exactly what I’ve been thinking all day long. I’ve been the person who does things and then regrets them but I’ve also been the person who doesn’t speak her mind and then regrets it. Somehow I think it’s better to take the risk than to regret not saying anything.

    Good luck on you decision!
    xoxo

    Like

  4. Pingback: Writer’s Quote Wednesday Weekly Wrap-up from 2/11/15 | Silver Threading

  5. Pingback: The Forever That I Believe In | Bittersweet Sensations

  6. Pingback: Unexpressed Emotions | Bittersweet Sensations

  7. Pingback: Better To Know | Bittersweet Sensations

Got something in mind?

