Strange

You Come And Go

Karma is a common word here in the Philippines. You hear it everywhere—on the streets, at your school, in an office, from the television, everywhere. The elders taught us that whatever you do to other people will get back to you. Karma works in ways you wouldn’t imagine and it will follow you, whether you did good or bad.

There are a lot of things that I don’t believe in, and karma lies in between. I’m still not sure if I really believe it or not. Maybe because the meaning of karma is slightly different here. Growing up, I thought of it as the kind of revenge I will get without doing anything, once someone do something bad to me. Or if I did something wrong to others, it will return to me. And the same goes for your good deeds, you will be rewarded.

Our words and actions will influence what happens to us in the future. Would agreeing to this sentence mean I believe in karma? It’s easier to believe if it’s just that. Because it’s true, I mean, it’s a even a fact. Of course whatever we do will influence what happens next, it’s as simple as that. But if we think of something more out of this sentence and consider things like afterlife or reincarnation and others that are associated with karma, then I don’t know anymore. I feel like it has so many layers and believing in just one part is not enough because that ruins the entire essence of the word.

So I guess that’s why I’m at a gray area regarding this. And before I could pick between black and white, I’d have to clear fifty shades of gray to decide.

This is in response to the Daily Post’s writing prompt Karma Chameleon.

Standard

2 thoughts on “You Come And Go

  1. great post. love the last line and the wink to the book/movie. i think you handle the topic really well giving your thoughts and questions but leaving space for the reader to make up their mind…

    love brett fish

    Like

Got something in mind?

