Poetry

Drowning

sea-man-person-ocean-large-drowning

She was not the first
girl to come over me
and then buy us a drink.
But you see, I liked her
right away.

She was a smart woman
with an enchanting beauty
unlike most girls I meet.
You know, we were in love
way, way back.

But then behind her lovely eyes,
a wicked mind and a greedy heart
reside.

I dived deep into her wilderness
trying to bring her soul back to the
surface.

But little did I know she was a great
swimmer and before I realized, I was
drowning.

She was the only person
who treated me like a cat
when I was actually a tiger.
But you see, I will remember
her, forever.

Daily Post’s writing prompt Brilliant Disguise.

Standard

One thought on “Drowning

  1. Pingback: What So Good About Gili

Got something in mind?

