Bitter, Poetry

Rainbows and People

I saw a rainbow earlier this day, when the street was just damp after the light rain.

You are like the rainbow. I didn’t notice when it first came out because of the vastness of the sky and the earthly things I was surrounded by, but when I did, I was mesmerized.

I watched it intently, spellbound by the striking character it unapologetically gives off. Honestly, I thought the rainbow was cocky. Which is bad, even though it has the bragging rights to be.

But little did I know that it was just pretentious. In a sad way that makes me want to hug it tight, hold onto it, and never let it go. The bright colors it shows us are limited and the reason why it places itself up so high is to avoid seeing (and feeling) the happiness in the world.

For rainbows cannot stay here forever.

And just as gradually as the rainbow fades from the sky, you casually walked away from my life.

Daily Post’s This Is Your Life. [Photo]

P.S. This would be one of the many entries in the book of my life, but I would never want to read all that has and all that will ever happen in mine.

Standard

Got something in mind?

